Makinde declared winner of Oyo Gov polls –

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Seyi Makinde victorious in the March 18 gubernatorial election in Oyo state (INEC).

The incumbent Premier defeated his opponents, which included Akinwale Tayo of the Labor Party (LP) and Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) incumbent.

Also read:Gov Makinde tore apart Oyo Accord Party

With 563,756 votes, Makind beat his nearest rival, who received 256,685.

When Makinde was declared victorious, International Electrotechnical CommissionProf. Adebayo Simeon, the state’s electoral officer, said, “Makinde Oluseyi Abiodun of the PDP has fulfilled the requirements of the law and hereby declares the winner and was elected by the electoral officer Prof. Adebayo Simeon on 19 March 2023.”

Makinde was the last of the PDP G5 or Integrity Group to stand for election. Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu) and Samuel Ortom (Benue), who have been in office for eight years, have all lost their bid for the Senate, while Nyesom Wike (Rivers) is finishing his second term as governor without running any elective office.

join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, Support Solutions Journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at a huge financial cost.

As a media platform, we are accountable to our leadership and will not trade the rights to a free press and free speech for a piece of the cake.

If you like our work and would like to support solutions journalism, please donate to Ripple Nigeria reason.

Your support will help ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to trusted and reliable information for social development.

donate now

Leave a Comment