2nd ODI: Rohit back in playing eleven as Australia win toss, elect to bowl first against India

Visakhapatnam, March 19: Captain Rohit Sharma returned to India for 11 matches as Australia won the toss and three at the Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium here on Sunday. First place in the second ODI of the race series.

After winning the toss, Smith said fast bowler Nathan Ellis stepped in for Glenn Maxwell, who he said was “a bit sour to pull” and that Alex Carey would replace Josh Ingle Liss became Australia’s goalkeeper batsman.

“Different surfaces, covered up for a while, might make a difference. Just the partnership in the middle will help us. It’s a good learning for us playing on these surfaces,” he said.

Rohit said he was in 11 with Ishan Kishan missing while left-arm spin all-rounder Axar Patel replaced seam bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur.

“If we win the toss, I think we can do something with three spinners if we pitch first. I think it’s still going to change in the second inning. Three spinners is what we might do in the World Cup used stuff, so we wanted to try it out,” he said.

“The pitch has been hidden for a long time, we have to play well and see where we are. Every game you play for India is a pressure game, so you have to stay calm and take the right decisions. The last couple of ODI series we’ve played, we’ve tried to stay calm,” he added.

India now lead the three-match series 1-0 following the win in Mumbai.

Play XI:

India: Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma (captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (goalkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami

Australia: Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith (c), Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (week), Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis and Adam Zampa



play free online games

Recommended: Sports Management Course

Leave a Comment